Kayin Peoples Party

  • 12/03/2015

The Kayin Peoples Party was formed by retired Kayin government officers to contest the 2010 General Election. It is based in Yangon where many Kayin people are living. Out of its 41 candidates, six won seats in 2010 General Election, but it did not run in the 2012 by-elections.

It is partnered with the Federal Democracy Alliance (FDA), and the Kayin Democratic Party. It is fielding over 100 candidates to contest for the constituencies in seven states and regions - Yangon, Bago, Tanintharyi, Ayeyarwady, Kayah, Kayin and Mon.

Address: No 632, D/16, Arzarni Road, 4th Junction, Ward 5, Shwepyitha Township, Yangon

Phone: 09 5180 146, 01 611 612

Email: N/A

Website: N/A

Facebook: N/A


Party leaders:

Tun Aung Myint (Chairman)

Number of MP: 6

State/Region parliament - 1

Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House) - 1

Pyithu Hluttaw  (Lower House) – 4

Number of candidates in 2015 elections: 117

Pyithu Hluttaw (Lower House) -27

Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House) - 22

State/Region parliament – 68

Latest Photos