Mon National Party

  • 12/03/2015

The Mon National Party is a Mon ethnic party formerly called the Mon National Democratic Front. It contested the 1990 general elections under this name, winning in five constituencies. After the military rejected the 1990 poll results, it revoked the party’s license in 1992.

The Mon party boycotted the 2010 general elections. It contested the 2012 by-elections but failed to win any seats. It changed its name to the Mon National Party in 2014.

Its 53 candidates will contest seats in Mon, Thanintharyi and Kayin states, where a large number of Mon people live. The MNP’s objectives include establishing a federal union in which the Mon people can have greater political autonomy.

Address: No 181, Yazadarid Road, Myaingtharyar Ward, Mawlamyine Township, Mon

Phone: 09 449 004 470, 09 4980 7777


Website: N/A



Party Leaders: Naing Ngwe Thein (Chairman)


Number of MPs: 0

State/Region parliament: 0

Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House): 0

Pyithu Hluttaw: (Lower House): 0


Number of candidates in 2015 elections: 53

Pyithu Hluttaw: (Lower House): 14

Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House): 12

State/Region parliament: 28

Latest Photos