Democratic Party for a New Society

  • 12/03/2015

The Democratic Party for a New Society (DPNS) was established by former students who took part in the 1988 democratic uprising.

It helped organise the election campaign for its ally, the National League for Democracy, in the 1990 general elections. Some members of the party across the country were detained for taking part in the students’ unions movement.

The headquarters of the Democratic Party for a New Society was moved to an area controlled by Karen armed groups on the Myanmar-Thai border in 1991, and its political activities were carried out from the border area and abroad.

After President Thein’s nominally civilian assumed office in 2011 and introduced political reforms, members of the party returned home. In 2013, some old party members decided to resurrect the party in order to contest in the 2015 elections. Four members decided to go ahead and register the party and open a headquarters in Yangon, despite objections from several other members.

Address: No. 251, Third Floor, Seikkantha Street, Kyauktada Township, Yangon

Phone: 09 3121 1730





Party leaders

Aung Moe Zaw, chairman

Ngwe Linn, general secretary


Numbers of MPs:

State/Region parliament - 0

Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House) - 0

Pyithu Hluttaw (Lower House) - 0


Numbers of candidates in 2015 elections:

State/Region parliament - tbc

Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House) - tbc

Pyithu Hluttaw (Lower House) – tbc

Latest Photos