Wa Democratic Party

  • 12/03/2015

The Wa Democratic Party was founded in 2010 and contested in the flawed polls held by the former junta that same year; it won five seats. The party claims 15,000 members among the ethnic Wa people, who mostly live in the Special Region 2, a zone in northern Shan State controlled by the United Wa State Army. There will be no voting in Special Region 2 in the Nov. 8 poll.

The Wa Democratic Party is a member of the Nationalities Brotherhood Federation, an alliance of 23 ethnic minority parties in Myanmar.


Address: No H 4/7, Theindi Road, Ward 8, Lashio Township, Shan State

Phone: 09 5261401

Email: N/A

Website: N/A

Facebook: N/A


Party leaders: Khun Tun Lu (chairman)


Number of MPs:

State/Region parliament — 0

Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House) — 1

Pyithu Hluttaw (Lower House) — 2


Number of candidates in 2015 elections: 11

State/region parliament — 7

Amyotha Hluttaw — 1

Pyithu Hluttaw — 3

Latest Photos